Home > China ABC > Politics
State Council
The State Council, or the Central People's Government, is the executive body of the highest organ of State power and the highest organ of State administration. It is composed of the premier, vice-premiers, state councilors, ministers in charge of ministries or commissions, the auditor-general and the secretary-general. The premier of the State Council is nominated by the president, decided by the NPC, and appointed and removed by the president. Other members of the State Council are nominated by the premier, decided by the NPC or its Standing Committee, and appointed and removed by the president. The term of office of the State Council is five years, and its members shall serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The premier assumes overall responsibility for the work of the State Council, and the ministers assume overall responsibility for the work of the ministries or commissions. In dealing with foreign affairs, state councilors are entitled to conduct important activities on behalf of the premier after being so entrusted by the premier. The auditor-general is in charge of the National Audit Office, and audits and supervises the revenue and expenditure of the State. The secretary-general under the leadership of premier is responsible for the routine work of the State Council and is in charge of the General Office of the State Council.

The State Council is responsible for carrying out the principles and policies of the Party and the laws and statutes adopted by the NPC, and administering China's internal, diplomatic, national defense, financial, economic, cultural and educational affairs.

Under the current Constitution, the State Council exercises such functions and powers as administrative legislation, submitting proposals, administrative leadership, administration of economic affairs, diplomatic administration, social administration, and other functions and powers assigned by the NPC and its Standing Committee.

Suggest To A Friend: